Drs. Michael Yaszemski, Brennan Smith & more: 10+ spine surgeons & neurosurgeons recently receiving honors — Nov. 7, 2016


Here are more than 10 spine surgeons and neurosurgeons who recently received awards or promotions.

North American Spine Society named F. Todd Wetzel, MD, president at their annual meeting in Boston.


The Scoliosis Research Society honored these five surgeons for their paper, "The Possible Pathogenesis in Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis Based on Experimental Model of Melatonin-deficit C57BL/6J Mice." They won the Russell A. Hibbs Basic Research Award:


  • Masafumi Machida, MD
  • Jean Dubousset, MD
  • Atsushi Miyake, MD, PhD
  • Mitsuru Yagi, MD, PhD
  • Masakuzu Takemitsu, MD, PhD


The Spine Journal and North American Spine Society awarded three 2016 Outstanding Paper Awards. Read about the involved surgeons here


The North American Spine Society awarded research grants and traveling fellowships for 2016, totaling $136,479 based on scientific merit, project significance, approach and feasibility. Read about the winners here.


Dr. Nacmettin Pamir, a professor at Acıbadem University in Istanbul, Turkey, took the helm of the World Academy of Neurological Surgery.


The National Academy of Medicine elected Michael J. Yaszemski, MD, PhD, of Rochester, Minn.-based Mayo Clinic.


Michael Lawton, MD, vice chairman of the neurological surgery department at the University of California at San Francisco, will replace Robert Spetzler, MD, as president and CEO of Phoenix-based Barrow Neurological Institute.


Jason E. Lowenstein, MD, has been honored as a Castle Connolly Top Doctor in 2016.


Park Rapids, Minn.-based CHI St. Joseph's Health appointed Brennan Smith, DO, the head of its orthopedic and spine surgery services.



Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers