Scoliosis Research Society honors 5 surgeons with research award


The Scoliosis Research Society honored five surgeons from around the world with the Russell A. Hibbs Basic Research Award.

The surgeons were honored for their paper "The Possible Pathogenesis in Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis Based on Experimental Model of Melatonin-deficit C57BL/6J Mice." The surgeons are:


• Masafumi Machida, MD
• Jean Dubousset, MD
• Atsushi Miyake, MD, PhD
• Mitsuru Yagi, MD, PhD
• Masakuzu Takemitsu, MD, PhD


In their study, the surgeons used [125I] iodomelatonin-binding assay to find the melatonin receptor in the paraventricular hypothalamus nucleus is likely responsible for scoliosis development.


Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers