Meet the head team physicians for all 12 WNBA teams


All 12 Women's National Basketball Association teams have a team of trained orthopedic surgeons and physicians providing care for them. 

Here are the head physicians for each team:

1. Atlanta Dream: Brandon Mines, MD, a family practice and sports medicine specialist at Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta, is head team physician for the Dream. He is also a team physician for the Atlanta Falcons. 

2. Chicago Sky: Holly Benjamin, MD, a sports medicine and nonsurgical musculoskeletal injury specialist at the University of Chicago, is head team physician for the Sky. She is also a medical officer for the Bank of America Chicago Marathon, U.S. Soccer and USA Triathlon.

3. Connecticut Sun: Michael Medvecky, MD, an orthopedic surgeon at Yale School of Medicine in New Haven, Conn., is the head team and head orthopedic surgeon for the Sun. He is also a consultant with Yale's athletic teams. 

4. Dallas Wings: Mark Kazewych, MD, an orthopedic surgeon and sports medicine specialist and FDA researcher for Cartiheal, was named Wings head physician in 2022. 

5. Indiana Fever: Stephen Kollias, MD, a sports medicine specialist at OrthoIndy in Indianapolis, provides care for the Fever. 

6. Las Vegas Aces: Glenn Barnes, DO, an assistant professor of sports medicine at the University of Nevada Las Vegas serves as head team physician for the Aces. He sees patients at the UNLV Health Sports Medicine Clinic where he treats musculoskeletal and sports-related injuries.

7. Los Angeles Sparks: The Sparks have a care partnership with UCLA Health in Los Angeles. UCLA orthopedic surgeons and sports medicine specialists Sharon Hame, MD, and Calvin Duffaut, MD, serve the team in equal capacities. 

8. Minnesota Lynx: Kelechi Okoroha, MD, an orthopedic surgeon and sports medicine specialist with his own private practice, is team physician for the Lynx and the Minnesota Timberwolves. Dr. Okoroha specializes in hip, shoulder, knee and elbow repair. 

9. New York Liberty: A team at New York City-based Hospital for Special Surgery has served the Liberty since 2004. Riley Williams, MD, serves as medical director and Anne Holland Johnson, MD, Benedict Nwachukwu, MD, Gabriella Ode, MD, and James Robinson, MD, serve as team physicians. 

10. Phoenix Mercury: Phoenix-based Steward Orthopedic and Sports Medicine Center provides care for the Mercury. Orthopedic surgeon Thomas Carter, MD, who joined the center in 2018, has served as the Suns' head team physician for 24 years.

11. Seattle Storm: Michael Erickson, MD, a sports medicine specialist at Swedish Health Services in Seattle and director of the sports medicine program fellowship, provides care for the Storm. 

12. Washington Mystics: Columbia, Md.-based MedStar Health is the official care provider for the Mystics.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers