AAOS awards highest honor to Dr. Dana Covey


The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons recognized Dana Covey, MD, with its highest honor for his contributions to the orthopedic community and its patients and/or the American public.

What you should know:

1. The William W. Tipton, Jr., MD, Leadership Award honors former AAOS CEO and orthopedic surgeon Dr. William W. Tipton Jr.

2. Dr. Covey served in the U.S. Navy for more than 40 years, retiring at the rank of captain.

3. He served as the chairman of orthopedic surgery at San Diego-based Naval Medical Center. He currently is a clinical professor at UC San Diego.

4. Dr. Covey has been deployed 10 times during his career, serving in Iraq, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Haiti, the former Yugoslavian Republic, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and in the Persian Gulf.

5. With AAOS, Dr. Covey created an educational course around treating wartime injuries, and created the AAOS Visiting Trauma Scholars Program in Landstuhl, Germany.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers