5 neurosurgeons to be honored at AANS annual meetings

Practice Management

Five neurosurgeons will be recognized for their various achievements and roles in the field of neurosurgery and elsewhere at the 2017 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting in Los Angeles.

Here are the five honorees:


J. Andre Grotenhuis, MD, PhD, of Netherlands-based Radboud University Medical Centre will be recognized with the AANS International Lifetime Recognition Award for his exemplary service to the AANS and the field of neurosurgery.


Former American Board of Neurological Surgery Director Volker K. H. Sonntag, MD, will be recognized with the AANS Distinguished Service Award for his charitable work and public activity.


John Ragheb, MD, of Miami-based Nicklaus Children's Hospital will receive the AANS Humanitarian Award for his neurosurgical work in Haiti.


Robert F. Spetzler, MD, of Phoenix-based Barrow Neurological Institute will be recognized for his technical prowess and skills in the development of new procedures with the AANS Cushing Medal.


Fady T. Charbel, MD, of the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago will receive the AANS Cushing Award for Technical Excellence and Innovation in Neurosurgery for his operative skills and approach to surgery.


More articles on practice management:
14 statistics on orthopedic surgeon benefits

Community-based practices provide less low-value care: study — 5 things to know

This state may save $100M by relying on regenerative medicine — 5 insights

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers