18 states participating in multistate licensure compact

Practice Management

The Interstate Medical Licensure compact assists physicians seeking licensure in multiples states, according to Medscape.

Here are six insights:


1. These 18 states are participating in the compact and accepting physician applications:


• Alabama
• Arizona
• Colorado
• Idaho
• Illinois
• Iowa
• Kansas
• Mississippi
• Minnesota
• Montana
• Nevada
• New Hampshire
• Pennsylvania
• South Dakota
• Utah
• West Virginia
• Wisconsin
• Wyoming


2. Georgia, Michigan, Nebraska, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Washington and Washington D.C. have also proposed compact legislation.


3. To be licensed in another state, physicians must meet the compact's eligibility requirements and their principal states of licensure must confirm their qualifications.


4. Locum tenens physicians; physicians practicing in metropolitan areas inclusive of more than one state; and physicians offering telemedicine in other states will likely benefit from the compact.


5. The Federation of State Medical Boards and American Medical Association back the compact, as it hands control of licensure and disciplining of physicians to state medical boards.


6. Interested physicians should visit IMLCC.org


Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers