National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke awards 30 research grants

Written by Laura Dyrda | January 30, 2017 | Print  |

The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, part of the National Institutes of Health, gave 30 researchers the R35 Research Program Award.

The award provides grants to fund research for five years with a potential three-year extension available. The recipients include:


1. Katerina Akassoglou, PhD, San Francisco Neurovascular interactions: mechanisms, imaging, therapeutic potential.


2. Allan I. Basebaum, PhD, University of California, San Francisco: From the spinal cord to the brain: Neurology of the pain and itch neurons.


3. Greg J. Bashaw, PhD, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia: Molecular mechanisms of axon guidance receptor regulation and signaling.


3. Nancy M. Bonini, PhD, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia: Molecular genetic insight into neurodegenerative disease from drosophila.


4. Manuel A. Castro-Alamancos, PhD, Drexel University, Philadelphia: Sensory pathways for stimulus detection during behavior.


5. Edwin R. Chapman, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison: Structure and dynamics of exocytotic fusion pores.


6. Robert B. Darnell, MD, PhD, Rockefeller University, New York City: Combining new molecular and informatic strategies to find hidden ways to treat brain disease


7. Graeme W. Davis, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco, Homeostatic stabilization of neural function in health and disease


8. Ronald L. Davis, PhD, Scripps Research Institute, Jupiter, Fla.: Biology of memory.


9. Donna M. Ferriero, MD, University of California, San Francisco: Precision therapy for neonatal brain injury.


10. David D. Ginty, PhD, Harvard Medical School, Bosto: Elucidating cutaneous mechanosensory circuits, from development to disease.


11. Aaron D. Gitler, PhD, Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif.: Innovating yeast and human genetics approaches to define mechanisms of neurodegenerative disease.


12. David H. Gutmann, MD, PhD, Washington University, St. Louis: Defining the mechanistic basis for Neurofibromatosis-1 nervous system disease heterogeneity.


13. Yuh-Nung Jan, PhD, University of California, San Francisco: Dendrite morphogenesis, function and regeneration.


14. David Kleinfeld, PhD, University of California, San Diego: Resilient versus fragile aspects of blood flow in the mammalian brain.


15. Arnold Kriegstein, MD, PhD, University of California, San Francisco: Development and expansion of the human cerebral cortex.


16. Seok-Yong Lee, PhD, Duke University, Durham, N.C.: Structure, function, and pharmacology of neuronal membrane transport proteins.


17. Eve E. Marder, PhD, Brandeis University, Waltham, Mass.: Neuromodulation and robustness of neurons and networks


18. David A. McCormick, PhD, Yale University, New Haven, Conn.: Cortical dynamics and neural/behavioral performance.


19. Guo-Li Ming, MD, PhD, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore: Functional roles of genetic risk factors for brain disorders in neurogenesis and neurodevelopment.


20. Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Fla.: Expanding insights into FTD disease mechanisms.


21. Rosa Rademakers, PhD, Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Fla.: Genetic discovery and pathobiology of frontotemporal lobar degeneration and related TDP-43 proteinopathies.


22. Wade G. Regehr, PhD, Harvard Medical School, Boston: Mechanisms and functions of synapses and circuits.


23. Jose Rizo-Rey, PhD, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas: Mechanisms of neurotransmitter release and its regulation.


24. Stephen M. Strittmatter, MD, PhD, Yale University, New Haven, Conn.: Genome-wide discovery and translational research for neural repair.


25. J. Paul Taylor, MD, PhD, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, Tenn.: Dynamic RNA-protein assemblies and neurological disease.


26. Sally Temple, PhD, Regenerative Research Foundation, Rensselaer, N.Y.: Defining characteristics of cortical progenitor cells over time in mouse and human.


27. Bruce D. Trapp, PhD, Cleveland Clinic Lerner Research Institute: Pathogenesis of neurological disability in primary diseases of myelin.


28. Charles J. Wilson, PhD, University of Texas, San Antonio: Oscillations and resonance in basal ganglia circuits.


29. Paul F. Worley, MD, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore: De novo synthesis and memory.


More articles on spine surgery:
5 reasons why spine care will boom in the next decade
Spine care in 2017: 4 spine surgeons make predictions
5 things to know about gunshot-induced spinal cord injury: Is surgery overused?

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies here.

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers