Leadership moves, advocacy plans & more: 12 notes from spine, orthopedic societies in 2021


From new leadership appointments and partnerships, here's what major spine and orthopedic organizations did in the first half of 2021:

North American Spine Society

1. The National Association of Spine Specialists, the advocacy arm of North American Spine Society, paid tribute to Brian Gantwerker, MD, for his work elevating the voices of spine providers and challenging legislative hurdles within the field.

2. SpineLine, the primary publication for North American Spine Society members, released its "20 Under 40" list for 2020.

3. Antonio Webb, MD, who was featured on the 2020 North American Spine Society "20 Under 40" list, went on a virtual tour to promote a documentary adaptation of his book, Overcoming the Odds.

4. The National Association of Spine Specialists highlighted David Gendelberg, MD, whose main goal is to establish an improved system for prior authorization.

5. Leaders at the North American Spine Society told Becker's Spine Review their plans for physician and patient advocacy. Read more here.

American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons

6. The AAOS named Daniel Guy, MD, its 2021-22 president March 15. Nine other leaders were named to the organization and its board.

7. The AAOS named Peter Rose, MD, as editor-in-chief of the Journal of the AAOS.

8. Members of AAOS have access to digital clinical assistants after artificial intelligence technology company Suki joined the organization's member advantage program.

9. The AAOS and American Association of Neurological Surgeons received sponsorship from Medtronic for their American Spine Registry.

American Association of Neurological Surgeons

10. Spinal neurosurgeon Regis Haid Jr., MD, has been appointed president of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons.

American Academy of Neurological Surgery

11. The American Academy of Neurological Surgery has appointed James Markert, MD, president.

International Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery

12. Domagoj Coric, MD, was named the 2021-22 president of ISASS, the organization announced June 9.

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Podcast

Featured Whitepapers