• January/ February 2018 Issue of Becker's Spine Review

January/February 2018 Issue of Becker's Spine Review  By Super User -
  • What being a patient taught me about knee replacement surgery dos and don’ts

In my role as both a physical therapist (PT) and founder of a leading independent network for PTs, I work closely with orthopedists and surgeons. We talk at length personally, professionally and philosophically about what patients want, what they need, and how we can help. I've known more than a few orthopedists who, over the years, have undergone orthopedic procedures, and they often ask me for tips on maximizing their outcomes and getting back on their feet sooner. So when I had to face my own decision about knee replacement surgery, I figured I'd be a great patient. After all, as a therapist, I knew what to expect, how to prepare, who the best surgeons were, and so on. Imagine my surprise to learn a thing or two (and more) on my way through surgery and back to recovery – things I now want to share with others in the orthopedic community to help us better help our patients and ensure they get the most from this important surgical procedure. 1. Be empathetic. I've known PTs, orthopedic surgeons and other healthcare professionals who have undergone knee replacement surgery and felt some anxiety about it. How would the artificial joint feel? Would there be pain or discomfort? What about the risk of falling? If providers like us feel that apprehension, imagine how our patients feel? Let's remember not to minimize their concerns or fears, but to help them overcome their anxiety through education, understanding and reassurance.2. Discomfort is good. Discomfort is clearly a primary concern of patients; it often causes high levels of anxiety, and causes many people to postpone or simply not have a procedure. Former patients often don't help matters by sharing their own post-surgery "the pain was so bad I . . ." anecdotes. I learned that discomfort is good. Stretching