10 Sports Medicine Specialists Receiving Recognition

Orthopedic Sports Medicine

Here are 10 sports medicine specialists who have received recognition either by an outside organization or by internal promotion over the past four months. James Andrews, MD, founder of Andrews Institute for Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine in Gulf Breeze, Fla., was named the 2010-2011 Southeastern Conference Team Physician of the Year by the Southern Orthopaedic Association SEC Program. He served as the medical director for intercollegiate sports at Auburn University.

Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush's Josh Blomgren, MD, was named medical director of the Chicago 20-Miler, which prepares runners for the Chicago Marathon. He also served as head physician for the Snoop Dogg Youth Football League in Chicago this past summer.

Cleveland Clinic named A.J. Cianflocco, MD, director of primary care sports medicine at the Cleveland Clinic Center for Sports Health. He is currently the director of the Primary Care Sports Medicine Fellowship Program and team physician for the Cleveland Cavaliers.

Texas Tech Athletics recently named Kevin Crawford, MD, as medical director and orthopedic physician. He previously served as team physician for the U.S. Ski and Snowboard team.

Charles Gatt, MD, was appointed program director of the Rutgers-Cleveland Clinic Consortium of the Armed Forces Institute of Regenerative Medicine. He and co-investigator Michael Dunn, MD, pioneered the creation of a weight bearing scaffold that facilitates the body's repair of meniscus tears.

Peter Indelicato, MD, chief of sports medicine for the department of orthopedic surgery and rehabilitation at the University of Florida, was named the 40th president of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine during the organization's annual meeting earlier this year.

T. Scott Maughon, MD, an orthopedic surgeon with Sports Medicine and Orthopaedic Institute of Gwinnett in Duluth, Ga., was selected as the healthcare provider for the Atlanta Professional Golf Association 2011 tournament.

Director of sports medicine at Children's Hospital Boston Lyle J. Micheli, MD, received the 2011 Robert E. Leach Mr. Sports Medicine award during the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine annual meeting earlier this year.

Clarence L. Shields, MD, a clinical associate professor at the University of Southern California, was inducted into the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine Hall of Fame at the organization's annual meeting earlier this year. He is a past president and previously earned the Mr. Sports Medicine award.

Later this year, Orthopaedic Foundation for Active Lifestyles will award Russell Warren, MD, an orthopedic surgeon and former surgeon-in-chief at Hospital for Special Surgery, with the Excellence in Sports Medicine award. He served as team physician for the New York Giants for 20 years.

Related Articles on Sports Medicine:

Orthopedic Surgeons Puzzle Over Chondrolysis Explosion

Are Partial Knee Replacements a Viable Procedure? 15 Responses

Sports Medicine Researcher Kevin Guskiewicz Receives $500k "Genius Grant" for Concussion Work

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Podcast

Featured Whitepapers

Most Read - Sports Medicine