Meet the new leaders of the AAOS


The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons on March 15 named 10 new leaders and members to its board of directors. Daniel Guy, MD, was named the organization's 2021-22 president.

Here are nine more leaders named to the AAOS and its board of directors:

Felix Savoie III, MD. First vice president. Dr. Savoie is serving the second year of a four-year term of volunteer service at AAOS and is expected to be president in 2022-23. During his career, he built a successful clinical and surgical practice, along with growing the orthopedic field. He's also held leadership positions at organizations including the Arthroscopy Association of North America, American Shoulder and Elbow Surgeons, Orthopaedic Learning Center, and Louisiana Orthopaedic Association.

Kevin Bozic, MD. Second vice president. Dr. Bozic is the inaugural chair of surgery and perioperative care at Austin-based University of Texas Dell Medical School. He's a recognized leader in orthopedic surgery and value-based healthcare payment and delivery models. He is expected to be president of the AAOS in 2023-24.

Valerae Lewis, MD. Member-at-large. Dr. Lewis is an orthopedic surgeon with expertise in bone and soft tissue sarcomas of the pelvis and extremities in both children and adults. She's the Dr. John Murray Professor in Orthopaedic Oncology and chair of the orthopedic surgery department at Houston-based University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. In 2012, Dr. Lewis was the first Black woman to receive the MD Anderson Faculty Achievement Award in Patient Care, and she's the first woman to chair an orthopedic department at a freestanding cancer center.

Karen Sutton, MD. Member-at-large. Dr. Sutton is an associate attending orthopedic surgeon at New York City-based Hospital for Special Surgery and a member of the Sports Medicine Institute and Women's Sports Medicine Center at HSS. As a sports medicine surgeon, she has expertise in arthroscopy of the shoulder and knee. Her interest in the field was sparked as a lacrosse player at Durham, N.C.-based Duke University, where she was team captain for three years.

Wayne Anthony Johnson, MD. Chair of the board of councilors. Dr. Johnson is an orthopedic surgeon in Oklahoma and has a subspecialty interest in sports medicine and arthroscopy. He's a former U.S. Army lieutenant colonel and served 21 years of combined service in the U.S. Army. He has a passion for volunteering and has multiple leadership roles in the Lawton, Okla., medical community.

Kevin Plancher, MD. Chair of the Board of Specialty Societies. Dr. Plancher is a clinical professor at New York City-based Albert Einstein College of Medicine and assistant adjunct clinical professor at New York City-based Weill Cornell Medical College. He held many committee positions within the AAOS, including chair of the Orthopaedic Video Theatre Committee and member of CME Course Committee, Orthopaedic Political Action Committee, the Advocacy Council, and the Research and Quality Council.

Michael Parks, MD. Treasurer-elect. Dr. Parks is an associate attending physician at HSS. He specializes in treating adults with arthritis who need reconstructive procedures of the hip and knee. At HSS, he led several research projects, with a particular interest in socioeconomic and racial disparities in arthritis care and total joint replacements.

Douglas Lundy, MD. Advocacy council chair. Dr. Lundy is an orthopedic trauma surgeon and former president of Atlanta-based Resurgens Orthopaedics. He graduated from Augusta, Ga.-based Medical College of Georgia and received his MBA from Auburn (Ala.) University. Dr. Lundy has gone on foreign medical missions in eastern Europe, Haiti, Asia and sub-Saharan Africa.

Lisa Masters. Board of directors lay-member. Ms. Masters is Bank of America's leadership development executive. She has worked at Bank of America since 1987 and has served on Bank of America's Global Diversity and Inclusion Council. Before being named as leadership development executive, she was the head of learning and leadership development.

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Podcast

Featured Whitepapers