Meet the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery board of directors for 2021


The board of directors of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery has selected its officers for 2020-21, as well as a new director-elect and public member director.

The ABOS board of directors consists of 21 members, including 12 active directors, six senior directors, two directors-elect and one public member director. Nominations to the board come from the American Orthopaedic Association, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the American Medical Association. 

Appointees for 2020-21, according to a Nov. 10 announcement:

Michael Bednar, MD, was elected president. He is chief of hand surgery at Loyola University Medical Center in Hines, Ill., and professor of orthopedic surgery and rehabilitation at Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine.

John Flynn, MD, was appointed vice president. He is chair of pediatric orthopaedic surgery and chief of orthopedics at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Gregory Mencio, MD, will serve as president-elect. He is professor of orthopedics and chief of pediatric orthopedics at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tenn.

Ann Van Heest, MD, was elected secretary. She is professor and vice-chair of education in the department of orthopedic surgery at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis. 

Frederick Azar, MD, was re-elected treasurer for a one-year term. He is chief of staff of Campbell Clinic Orthopaedics in Memphis, Tenn., and professor at the University of Tennessee-Campbell Clinic department of orthopedic Surgery and biomedical engineering.

Eric Conley, MD, executive vice president at Wauwatosa, Wis.-based Froedtert Health and president of Froedtert Hospital, was named the public member director. 

Michael Daubs, MD, chair of orthopedic surgery at the University of Nevada Las Vegas School of Medicine, and Gregory Guyton, MD, director of the foot and ankle division at Union Memorial Hospital in Baltimore, were appointed director-elects. 

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Podcast

Featured Whitepapers