Nick Saban lauds orthopedic surgeon named as SEC Team Physician of the Year

Alan Condon -   Print  |
  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large

Lyle Cain, MD, team orthopedic surgeon at the University of Alabama Athletics, has been named SEC Team Physician of the Year, according to

"The track record for our medical staff, and in particular Dr. Cain, speaks for itself with the success we have seen getting our players back on the field after challenging injuries," said Alabama Crimson Tide Head Coach Nick Saban. "Dr. Cain and his orthopedic team are an integral part of the success that we have enjoyed at Alabama."

Dr. Cain has served as team orthopedic surgeon for the University of Alabama Athletics program in Tuscaloosa since 2000. 

He is a founding partner of Andrews Sports Medicine & Orthopaedic Center in Birmingham, Ala.

The University of Alabama Athletics' orthopedic team was also named SEC Orthopaedic Team of the Year. The awards will be presented at the Southern Orthopaedic Association SEC Sports Medicine Meeting in Birmingham in May 2021.

Copyright © 2021 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast