AOSSM to present 21 awards & grants

Mackenzie Garrity -   Print  |

The American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine will present 21 research awards and grants at its annual meeting, July 5 to 8 in San Diego.

Here are the grants and award winners:

Steven P. Arnoczky Young Investigator Grant: Up to $50,000 will go to a young researcher who has not received prior funding. The winner will be named July 6.

Sandy Kirkley Grant: The $20,000 grant is designed to help clinicians as start-up funding for their research. The grant will be awarded July 6.

AOSSM/Sanofi Osteoarthritis Grant: This is a $50,000 grant to support a clinical research study or a lab/basic science project.

Fellow Research Award – Basic Science: Sandeep Mannava, MD, PhD, Kaitlyn Whitney, Jillian King, Mitchell Kennedy, Katarina Klett, Grand Dornan, Jorge Chahla, MD, PhD, Thos Evans, MD, Johnny Huard, PhD, and Robert LaPrade, MD, PhD.

Fellow Research Award – Clinical Science: Aakash Chauhan, MD, Peter McQueen, MD, Michael Ciccotti, MD, Christopher Camp, MD, John D'Angelo, Hollis Potter, MD, Brandon Erickson, MD, Stephen Fealy, MD, Heinz Hoenecke, MD, Daniel Keefe, MD, Julie McCauley and Jan Froneck, MD.

Cabaud Memorial Award: Gilbert Moatshe MD, Jorge Chahla MD, PhD, Alex Brady, Grant Dornan, Kyle Muckenhirn, Bradley Kruckeberg, Lars Engebretsen MD, PhD, and Robert LaPrade MD, PhD.

Thomas A. Brady Award: W. Ben Kibler, MD.

George D. Rovere Award: Allen Anderson, MD.

Excellence in Research Award: Jay Patel, PhD, Salim Ghodbane, MD, Andrzej Brzezinski, MD, Charles Gatt, MD, and Michael Dunn, PhD.

O’Donoghue Sports Injury Research Award: Craig Bottoni, MD, John Johnson, DO, Liang Zhou, MD, Sarah Raybin, James J. Shaha, MD, Kenneth K. Lindell, MD, and David D. Thoma, DO.

Hughston Award: Sally Järvela, MD, PhD, Tommi Kiekara, MD, PhD, Piia Suomalainen, MD, PhD, and Timo Järvela, MD, PhD.

AJSM Systematic Review Award: Mark Cinque, Grant Dornan, Jorge Chahla, MD, PhD, Gilbert Moatshe, MD, and Robert LaPrade, MD, PhD.

Herodicus Award: Stephen Thon, MD, Lawrence O'Malley, MD, Michael John O'Brien, MD, and Felix H. Savoie, MD.

David Sisk Award for Best Original Research Paper: Eric Post, David Bell, PhD, Stephanie Trigsted, Adam Pfaller, Scott Hetzel, M. Alison Brooks, MD, and Timothy McGuine, PhD.

David Sisk Award for Best Review Paper: Mark Reinking, PhD, Tricia Austin, PhD, Randy Richter, PhD, and Mary Krieger.

David Sisk Award for Best International Paper: Pierre Viviers, Jo-Anne Kirby, Jeandré Viljoen and Wayne Derman, PhD.

STOP Sports Injuries Award: Mark V. Paterno, PhD.

2018 William A. Grana Award for Best Original Research: Jonathan Frank, MD, Gilbert Moatshe, MD, Alex Brady, Grant Dornan, Ashley Coggins, Kyle J. Muckenhirn, Erik Slette, Jacob Mikula, and Robert LaPrade, MD, PhD.

2018 Douglas W. Brown Award for Best Review Paper: Brian Devitt, MD, Stuart Bell, Clare Adern, PhD, Taylor Hartwig, Tabitha Porter, Julian Feller and Kate Webster, PhD.

Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine Awards: The winner will be named July 6.

David Sisk Awards for Research Excellence: The winner will be named July 6.

More articles on sports medicine:
Dr. Waldomar Roeser passes away
Dr. Neal ElAttrache diagnoses Angels' Zack Cozart's torn shoulder, to undergo season-ending surgery
Senate committee passes Sports Medicine Licensure Clarity Act

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies here.

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers