20 Orthopedic Surgeon Honors & Awards

Laura Dyrda -   Print  |


Here are 20 orthopedic surgeons who recently received awards, honors or promotions in their field.


The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences named C. Lowry Barnes, MD, chair of the department of orthopedic surgery.


Lebanon, N.H.-based Dartmouth Hitchcock named David S. Jevsevar, MD, vice chair of orthopedics and director of the soon-to-be developed Arthritis Chair at Dartmouth Hitchcock, according to a VNews report.


The Mid-American Orthopaedic Association named J. Lawrence Marsh, MD, president of the organization.


Baylor Regional Medical Center at Plano (Texas) named Simon Mears, MD, medical director of total joints.


Shriners Hospitals for Children-Honolulu named orthopedic surgeon Craig Ono, MD, chief of staff.


The American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine named Robert A. Arciero, MD, president at the annual meeting in Seattle.


Orthopedic surgeons Craig A. Butler, MD, and Kimberly J. Templeton, MD, were appointed to represent the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons at the National Quality Forum.


James Bradley, MD, of Burke & Bradley Orthopedics and head orthopedic surgeon for the Pittsburgh Steelers, received the 2014 NFL Team Physician of the Year Jerry "Hawk" Rhea Award.


The American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine named Timothy N. Taft, MD, to the organization's Hall of Fame.


The Academy of Medicine Cleveland & Northern Ohio awarded the 2014 John H. Budd MD Distinguished Award to William H. Seitz Jr., MD, a hand and upper extremity surgeon at Cleveland Clinic Beachwood Family Health and Surgery Center.


Clemson University honored Richard J. Hawkins, MD, with the 2014 Samuel F. Hubert award for his work in the orthopedics field.


New York City-based Hospital for Special Surgery honored Jo A. Hannafin, MD, director of Orthopedic Research with the Lifetime Achievement Award.


New York City-based Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons named orthopedic surgeon William N. Levine, MD, as chair of the orthopedic surgery department. He was also named orthopedic surgeon-in-chief of New York-Presbyterian/Columbia University Medical Center.


Leading Physicians of the World now includes Tacoma, Wash.-based Robert M. Tamurian, MD.


Robert W. McAllister, MD, was named medical honoree for the 2013 Harford Walk to Cure Arthritis by The Arthritis Foundation's New England region.


Gulf Breeze, Fla.-based James Andrews, MD, now appears on a Topps trading card for his contribution to treating high-level athletes, according to an ABC report.


The Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America awarded Richard M. Schwend, MD, the 2014 POSNA Humanitarian Award.


The Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America recognized Daniel J. Sucato, MD, chief of staff at Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children, with the Memorial Award.


First State Orthopaedics founding partner Michael J. Axe, MD, became an honorary member of the American Physical Therapy Association.


More Articles on Orthopedic Surgeons:
Dr. Kevin Hilton Joins Lodi Health
10 Statistics on Orthopedic Surgeon Salary & Bonus
12 Orthopedic Surgeons for Professional Athletes


© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2021. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies here.

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers