12 spine, neurosurgeons with leadership promotions in 2018

Mackenzie Garrity -   Print  |

Here are 12 spine and neurosurgeons who were promoted to leadership positions in 2018.

The International Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery named Marek Szpalski, MD, 2018-19 president.

The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons named Philadelphia-based Rothman Institute's Alan Hilibrand, MD, treasurer-elect of the board of directors.

Afshin Razi, MD, was appointed vice chair and residency program director of New York City-based Maimonides Medical Center's orthopedics department.

Shelly Timmons, MD, is the American Association of Neurological Surgeons' new president.

The American Orthopaedic Association selected Venkat Ganapathy, MD, to be the associate editor of The Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery.

Jean-Pierre Mobasser, MD, was elected to serve as president of Indianapolis-based Goodman Campbell Brain and Spine.

Sacramento, Calif.-based UC Davis Health welcomed Griffith Harsh IV, MD, to its team as neurosurgery department chief.

Syracuse, N.Y.-based Crouse Hospital surgeon Eric Deshaies, MD, is leaving the hospital to direct a spine program in Charlotte, N.C.

Susan Williams, MD, joined the CHI Mercy Health board of directors in Roseburg, Ore.

Christopher M. Bono, MD, became the fourth editor in chief of The Spine Journal.

Florida neurosurgeon Merle Stringer, MD, was reappointed to the Florida Board of Medicine.

John S. Kuo, MD, PhD, became the inaugural neurosurgery chair of the Mulva Clinic for the Neurosciences at The University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School.

More articles on spine:
4 things to know about the Perioperative Cognitive Anesthesia Network
Male patients have more ACDF complications, study says: 4 notes
Top 10 Spine Review articles: July 16-20

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2021. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies here.

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers