10 spine surgeons recently receiving honors – May 6, 2015

Written by Anuja Vaidya | May 06, 2015 | Print  |

Here are 10 spine surgeons who recently received awards or promotions.

Paul T. Rubery, MD, chief of the division of spine surgery at the University of Rochester Medical Center, was named chair of the department of orthopedics.


The American Association of Neurological Surgeons named:


•    H. Hunt Batjer, MD, FAANS, as its 2015-2016 president
•    Deborah L. Benzil, MD, vice president
•    Christopher Shaffrey, MD, secretary


New York City-based Hospital for Special Surgery has a new chief of spine service: Frank Schwab, MD.


Patrick Hitchon, MD, was appointed associate editor of Clinical Neurology and Neurosurgery.


Two spine surgeons from the United States were chosen for the ABC Traveling Fellowship — Suken Shah, MD, and Alpesh Patel, MD.


Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, MD, was awarded the Cortes de Cadiz Prize in the surgery category by the city council of Cadiz, Spain.


The University of Maryland Memorial Hospital Foundation honored Khalid Kurtom, MD, a neurosurgeon with Chesapeake Neurological Surgery, as an "Everyday Hero."


More articles on spine:
Spinal fusion patients — Can preoperative cognitive-behavioral intervention help? 5 key notes
Does aspirin make an impact on spine surgery for cardiac patients? 6 key notes
Spinal deformity surgery — On the cutting edge with Drs. Isador Lieberman, Suken Shah

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2019. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies here.

Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months