7 spine, orthopedic surgeons honored in Q1


Becker's reported on seven spine and orthopedic surgeons in the first quarter of 2023.

1. Howard An, MD, a spine surgeon at Chicago-based Midwest Orthopedics at Rush, was awarded the 2023 Wiltse Lifetime Achievement Award by the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine.

2. The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons honored three orthopedic surgeons. Mark Myerson, MD, recived the 2023 Humanitarian Award; Alex Jahangir, MD, earned the 2023 William W. Tipton Jr., MD, Leadership Award, and Mary O'Connor, MD, recieved the 2023 Diversity Award.

3. Orthopedic surgeon Kevin Farmer, MD, team physician for the Florida Gators college football team at Gainesville-based University of Florida, has been named the 2023 Southeastern Conference Team Physician of the Year. 

4. Neurosurgeon Bennie Chiles, III, MD, recieved his fourth consecutive Top Doctor honor from Castle Connolly.

5. James Voos, MD, chairman of the orthopedics department at University Hospitals Cleveland (Ohio) Medical Center and head team physician for the Cleveland Browns NFL team, has been awarded the annual NFL Physicians Society Arthur C. Rettig Award for Academic Excellence. 

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.