AANS names new president, president-elect

Spine Leaders

The American Association of Neurological Surgeons has named Ann Stroink, MD, its president, and Anthony Asher, MD, its president-elect, the association said May 3.

Dr. Stroink currently serves as system medical director of neurosciences quality and educational program development for Downers Grove, Ill., and Milwaukee-based Advocate Aurora Health. She also directs strategic planning for neurosurgery services across the health system.

She has served in leadership positions including the chair of the Council of State Neurosurgical Societies, a member of the American Medical Association's Council on Legislation, and chair of the Washington Committee for Neurological Surgery.

Dr. Asher serves as president and enterprise service line leader of Charlotte, N.C.-based Atrium Health Neurosciences Institute and academic lead of the department of neurological surgery at Atrium Health's Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte.

He has served in leadership positions including as president of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons, vice chair of the American Board of Neurological Surgery and treasurer of AANS.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers