17 orthopedic surgeons making the news — April 3, 2015

Written by Brandon Howard | April 03, 2015 | Print  |

Here are 17 orthopedic surgeons making headlines over the past week.

The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons named David Alexander Halsey, MD, chairman of the board of specialty societies.


Alexander Meininger, MD, of Steamboat Orthopaedic Associates, has begun recruiting patients for a Phase III FDA interventional study titled "Safety and Effectiveness Study to Evaluate NOVOCART 3D Compared to Microfracture to Treat Articular Cartilage Defects of the Knee."


The Supreme Court will not hear Coons vs. Lew, a challenge to the Independent Payment Advisory Board, in which businessman Nick Coons and orthopedic surgeon Eric Novack, MD, are named plaintiffs, according to an IJ Review report.


William J. Maloney III, MD, was elected second vice president of the AAOS board of directors, which begins the first of a three-year term of volunteer service for Dr. Maloney, culminating in a one year presidency term in 2017-2018.


Christian Vazquez, catcher for the Boston Red Sox, received Tommy John surgery from James Andrews, MD.


John Dunham States, MD, a Rocheste, N.Y., orthopedic surgeon and devoted car safety advocate and pioneer, has passed away at 89. Dr. States taught at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, served as chief of orthopedics at Rochester General Hospital and was one of the first track physicians at Watkins Glen International.


Sarasota (Fla.) Orthopedic Associates added Nomen Azeem, MD, and Gregory C. Farino, MD, to its physician team.


Andrew Collette, DO, an orthopedic surgeon at Freeman Health System in Joplin, Mo., was featured on KSN News for pulling small children out from an overturned car on the highway.


The Knee Society gave Richard D. Scott, MD, its Lifetime Achievement Award.


Anaheim, Calif.-based Healthpointe, a multidisciplinary healthcare organization, added Stanley G. Katz, MD, to its physician team.


Chicago-based orthopedic surgeon Bonnie Simpson Mason, MD, received the AAOS Diversity Award.


John F. Lovejoy Jr., MD, a retired orthopedic surgeon of Jacksonville, Fla., received the AAOS 2015 Humanitarian Award for his musculoskeletal-related humanitarian activities around the world.


The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons named David J. Mansfield, MD, chair of the board of councilors.


The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons named Gerald R. Williams Jr., MD, its first vice president.


The Louisiana Orthopaedic Association appointed Mark A. Dodson, MD, as president.


Howard R. Epps, MD, was elected to the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons board of directors.


Read more on orthopedics...
Dr. Ronald S. Kvitne gives UFC fighter green light to return after knee surgery
Racial, socioeconomic factors affect care for hip fracture patients, study finds
Dover Chamber of Commerce welcomes Seacoast Orthopedics and Sports Medicine


© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2019. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies here.

Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months