Meet the AAOS' new leaders


The American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons on March 24 named its 90th president and board leaders for the 2022-23 term.

Felix "Buddy" Savoie III, MD, a surgeon in Louisiana, will be the 90th president of the AAOS. Dr. Savoie is an orthopedic surgeon in New Orleans. He has been a member of the AAOS' education council, research and quality council and political action committee.

"Now more than ever, I am proud to be part of the AAOS," he said in a news release. "With vision and perseverance, I look forward to creating a bright future for our members — and our patients. Together, we will address the inequities within our specialty and continue to pave the way for the future of musculoskeletal healthcare."

Kevin Bozic, MD, was named first vice president of the AAOS. He is the inaugural chair of surgery and perioperative care at Dell Medical School at the University of Texas at Austin. Paul Tornetta III, MD, was named second vice president of the AAOS. He is chief of orthopedics and director of orthopedic trauma at Boston Medical Center.

Additional appointments include:

Treasurer: Michael Parks, MD. Hospital for Special Surgery (New York City).

Chair of AAOS' board of councilors: Claudette Lajam, MD. NYU Langone Orthopedics (New York City).

Chair of AAOS' board of specialty societies: Alexandra Page, MD. An orthopedic surgeon in San Diego.

Board of directors members:

Chad Kreuger, MD. Rothman Orthopaedic Institute (Philadelphia).

Toni McLaurin, MD. NYU Langone Orthopedics. 

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Podcast

Featured Whitepapers