AMA recognizes 10 government leaders for healthcare dedication

Practice Management

The American Medical Association honored 10 government professionals for their commitment to healthcare.

The 2017 Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Government Service honors federal, state or municipal service elected and career officials whose "outstanding contributions have promoted the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health."


The society presented the awards at its National Advocacy Conference on Feb. 28, 2017.


Here are the recipients:


1. U.S. Senate — Sen. John Barrasso, MD, R-Wyo.


2. U.S. House of Representatives — Rep. Phil Roe, MD, R-Tenn.


3. Member of the executive branch serving by presidential/political appointment — Andrew Slavitt, CMS' former acting administrator


4. Member of the executive branch in career public service — Patrick Conway, MD, MSc, CMS acting administrator


5. Member of the executive branch in career public service for scientific advancement — Janine Austin Clayton, MD, National Institutes of Health's associate director for research on women's health and director of the office of research on women's health


6. Member of a state general assembly — Wisconsin State Rep. John Nygren


7. Member of a state senate — Texas State Sen. Kirk Watson


8. Governor of elected statewide official — Dave Jones, California Insurance commissioner


9. Career public servant at the state level — Elizabeth H. Roberts, former Rhode Island secretary of health and human services


10. Career public servant at the local level — Don Crowson, chief, Arlington (Texas) Fire Department


Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers