Dr. Gunnar Andersson Becomes 2014 ISASS President Featured

Written by  Laura Dyrda | Friday, 02 May 2014 15:30
Social sharing

The International Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery named Gunnar B.J. Andersson, MD, PhD, president for 2014 to 2015.

Dr. Andersson is a professor and chairman emeritus of the department of orthopedic surgery at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago. He served as chairman of the department from 1994 to 2008. Dr. Andersson is a past president of the Orthopaedic Research Society, International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine and American Academy of Disability Evaluating Physicians.


During his career, Dr. Andersson has been a council member of the National Institutes of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases at the National Institutes of Health and chaired the research committee of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. He has earned several honors throughout his career, including the ISSLS Stryker Spine Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine and Trustee Medal from Rush University Medical Center.


More Articles on Spine Surgery:
20 Spine Surgeons Leading ASCs
Decision-Making in Spine: Challenges in Providing Evidence-Based Care From Dr. Frank Phillips
Laminectomy for Spinal Stenosis: 4 Factors Increasing Length of Stay

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2017. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies here.

Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months